Day 18

 

You ever have those days that don’t go like you planned?

I had one like that today, as I went to see if I could connect again with the guys who live/hang out under the bridge. By now, going down there was feeling more normal to me, and I was actually kind of looking forward to it this time. But as I walked down the embankment it didn’t take long to see… there was nobody ‘home.’ Before, I would have been relieved this time I was disappointed. But I took some time to stay there under that bridge, praying for those who lived/spent time there that someday they might come to experience God’s love and forgiveness through Christ.

I thought, ‘O.K. Lord, where can I go next?‘ And I immediately thought of a local business where I had got to know the owner better and have been able to form a bit of a friendship, but every time I’ve gone to try to invite him to our church so far, a customer has walked up and interrupted, or he was on his way out to deliver something. This time, I knew I was going to get a chance to invite him! But instead when I got there, I found out he had gone early, relying on one of his employees to lock up.

By this time, I was getting a little frustrated…‘Common, God, I’m trying to reach out and connect and meet needs and invite, but it’s not working here!’ Well, I guess I’ll just stop by the preschool and pick up our daughters a little a little early…’

As I went in, I took some time to talk to the director like I usually do. And as we were talking it hit me, ‘Wait a minute, I’ve got a pocket-full of ‘Movie Under the Stars’ fliers here. Have I mentioned this event to her yet?’ So I asked her, and she told me that I hadn’t. After showing her a flier and telling her about it, she really seemed excited about it, and said that not only would she would come with her family, but she also took a stack of fliers and put them on the counter there at the school where parents could easily pick them up! As the girls and I said goodbye, I thought of Proverbs 16:9 which says,  ‘The mind of man plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps.’  

Lord, it’s O.K. for me to make plans to serve, the connect, to invite… just help me to recognize that when my plans don’t pan out, instead of getting discouraged, I should be anticipation that you are directing my steps to something even better!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 18

  1. CJ Fischer says:

    I had a thought today and mentioned the movie event to my boss/Jimmy johns owner and he said he may be interested in giving out some samples or something but wanted some more info on it. I have his card for you or if you want to come by before 11am wed-fri he is always there. I’m there at 1030 tues if you want an intro.

Leave a Reply

