Day 16

Today was one of those days where the list of things to do was way longer than there were hours in the day to get them done. Seems like I’ve had a lot of those lately…how about you?

One of those to do’s was a phone call to a new friend of mine about a business matter. It was a call that ended up lasting well over an hour as we hashed through detail after detail, question after question.

But as I got down to the end of my list of questions for him, I had just one more… ‘Are you going anywhere to church right now?‘ I asked. ‘No’, he answered, not right now…’ and he went on to describe some negative experiences that had kind of left him and his family without a church home.

So I said, ‘Well, we’d love to have you join us at our church this weekend.’ He said he appreciated it and that, Yes…he would come for a visit. As we finished, I felt our conversation had gone really well, and I was especially feeling good that this man and his family would be joining us soon at Access.

And then later today it hit me…over the past few weeks, inviting people to church and to Christ has become an almost daily reality for me. And I’m wondering, ‘Jesus, why didn’t I see all of these opportunities before?’ Then his words in John 4:35 came to me ‘I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for harvest.’

And I thought, ‘This is exactly what I feel like, that God has opened up my eyes like never before to see Him working in people’s lives around me. This really is an adventure, and I don’t want it to end! The good news is, I’m pretty sure that it doesn’t have to…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

