Day 10

When I was in my early twenties, I was an intern in the process of going into full-time service as a pastor. And one of the things my mentor would always say (quoting Jesus in Matthew 25:21) was, ‘Faithful in little…faithful in much.’ In other words, if we are faithful with the smaller things that God gives us, he will give us more to do.

And so I when it came to some of the opportunities to meet needs that God has already given me, I wanted to be faithful and do some follow-up today…

First, I filled out the application to volunteer at Sunrise Mountain High School. By turning it in now, I’m told that I’ll be able to serve in a number of ways at the school, as apparently they are coming up on a busy season in their need for volunteers. So let me know if you are interested, and I’ll tell you how you can sign up, too!

Second, I connected with Marlena Padron at Phoenix Rescue Mission to see about signing up a group of us this time to go to downtown Phoenix to prepare/serve meals to those in need. The following two meals are currently available….

Wednesday, March 9th – Dinner Service 4:15 pm to 7:00 pm.  Need 3 people

Thursday, March 10th – Sack Meals & Next Day Prep 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm. Need 4 people

So if either of these works for you, please comment on this post, and I’ll get back to you!

Finally, on the way home, I decided to stop by under the bridge again, and follow-up on my friend, Mike. As I walked down there, sure enough, the famiar smell of pot came up towards me. But as I rounded the corner, Mike wasn’t there… but his friends were. There were two friends that Mike had introduced me to before- Bill, an older man; and Nick, a high school-age guy. Along with them was another high school aged guy who also, called himself Nick.

The guys who I had met before had remembered me, and didn’t seem to mind me being there. The newer Nick seemed a little nervous that I was hanging around, and he didn’t say much.  And after a while one of them asked, ‘Hey man, are you a cop?’ I said ‘No, I’m a part of a church that meets at Sunrise Mountain High School. And I just wanted to come down here again and ask if you all needed anything. They looked at each other and again the answer came, ‘No, not really.’ So I just decided to hang out and talk to them a while. So as they smoked their joints, we talked about everything from music to the latest interview of Charlie Sheen.

After a while I asked them once again, ‘Well guys, I’ve got to go, but would you mind if I came back sometime soon and hung-out with you again. They all said ‘Yes’, and then I headed back up towards my car, sensing that I was reallly beginninning to be accepted by these guys. I felt like I was starting to ‘earn the right to be heard’. Maybe after another time or two, they might want to hear more about the One that keeps telling me to go down there.

And maybe once they’ve become a little more comfortable with me, they might be OK with a friend or two coming with me! If you’d be interested, let me know and we’ll work out the details.

As we are faithful in the little together, I know that He will give us far more adventures to be involved in…together!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

