Day 5

Skylar in the tub

As I sit here with my laptop at the end of a long day, the words of Jesus that come to me are , ‘Seek first (God’s) kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.’ Here’s why…

Over the last handful of days, I’ve had the privilege of spending more time seeking God’s kingdom, which I’ve experienced through being more intentional about looking for ways to meet other’s needs on a daily basis. As I’ve done this so far, I’ve seen God work and move in some exciting ways!

Meanwhile, in the background, the clock has been ticking on a very tough issue for our family. Due to our 3 year-old daughter Skylar’s Castleman Disease (a rare disorder similar to lymphoma), we were coming down to being just a few days away from getting dropped by our health insurance, which would mean having no coverage for our little girl whose medical bills last year totalled in the hundreds of thousands of dollars. As the days passed, it was easy to get more and more worried that we wouldn’t have insurance, and therefore wouldn’t be able to pay the bills.

If we lost our insurance we used to pay for Skylar’s treament, we didn’t know how God was going to supply. We just prayed that he would provide and we continued to focus on looking for ways to meet other’s needs. 

As we’ve done this, the words of Jesus that have been coming to me are ‘Do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ (or where is the insurance going to come from!) 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.’

Well, the great news that I get to report to you tonight is, as we’ve done our best to seek His kingdom, God has taken care of ‘all these things’ for us, by confirming that we have been accepted by a new insurance company. We praise God has he has been true to his word again and that today He is the one that has met our needs! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 5

  1. This is so real to me right now. As much as I know God will provide, I still need the reminder. We havn’t gotten paid from the Military yet, so I’ve been having to borrow money from my parents to get groceries and necessities. We are supposed to get paid on the 1st of Feb. but with our past record of getting paid from the military I have been really doubtful. We have a small stack of medical bills, credit card, and rent to pay-all as soon as possible. I’ll just remember to be seeking the kingdom because I don’t need to worry about God’s provision. How silly of me to forget that the creator already knows my needs!

    ps- James 5 was great today Rance!

    • Praying for an increased sense of God’s presence for you right now, Brittany, both with the financial challenges and with Jared’s absence. I can’t wait to see how the Lord will provide for you. FYI- I’ve found He usually waits until the last minute! Know too, as your church family, we are here to help in any way we can…

    • CJ Fischer says:

      Please let Jen and I know if we can ever help in any way. Even if it’s just an evening to relax we can watch the little guy for you. It is truly amazing the more we seek Gods provision and guidance te more we get of it an the clearer things become. Your family is in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

