Day 4

                                                                    You know, Jesus started his public ministry at a wedding. He didn’t kick it off with some big religious rally. He started at a wedding…a celebration point in the everyday lives of people.

Tonight I went to a wedding.  I actually had the privilege of marrying one of our great young couples at Access Church… Cory and Kristina.

I’ve done a lot of weddings over the past 20 years, and I’ll tend to hang around at the reception when I know some of the people there. But traditionally, in weddings like today where I didn’t know a single person besides the bride and groom, I’d just bow out after the ceremony and head home. But today I prayed and thought, ‘What would Jesus do if he were at this wedding?’ Would he turn the Martinelli’s into champagne? Maybe. But one thing I’m sure that he would have done would have been to take time out and connect with the people there. So that’s what I decided to do.

After the wedding, I hung out and I got to meet some great people… bridesmaids, groomsmen, parents.  In a short amount of time I was able to learn a lot about them… upcoming graduations, relationships, job changes and of course, children’s pictures were broken out. More than one said how much they appreciated the ceremony, and started asking me about our church. So I got to share with them about the awesome people of Access and some of the amazing things that God was doing among them. And by the time I left, I had handed out a number of my cards and had personally invited about 10 people to come visit us at Access. What a difference it can make when you start thinking more about what Jesus might do if he was in your place in everyday situations. He turns the ordinary into extra-ordinary!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

