Day 3

Since we started meeting at Sunrise Mountain High School about a year-and-a-half ago, we’ve had the chance to serve the school in a number of ways. Giving gift cards to the teachers whose rooms we use; plates of cookies left in the teacher’s lounge at Christmas time; paying some bills for a teacher whose husband was in a tragic accident, and helping the facilities crew spread out tons of gravel in the back parking lot were among them.

But for a while now, I’ve been praying that God would give us more opportunities to serve the staff/students at Sunrise Mountain in a more personal way.  So today I went into the front office and picked up a volunteer form, which upon completion should give me the opportunity to help in the counseling department, at school events and wherever else the school might have a need. The admin at the front desk said that the season where they would have a lot of needs for volunteers was coming up, so I was signing up at the perfect time.

So as I’m getting started myself, I want to put out the call… Are there any others who live in the Peoria area who are willing to sign up with me to serve at the school? If you sense God moving you to do this, just put in a comment on today’s post with your contact info and we’ll get you taken care of!

While at the school  I thought I’d stop in and see Greg, the head of facilities, who always unlocks the place and helps us get set-up on Sunday mornings. I found him back by the power plant area, and I asked him if he had any ideas of how we could help out the facilities department this spring with any projects they wanted to do. He said that he would talk to the assistant principal and get back to me, and then our conversation drifted to other topics.

As we were talking, a question hit me… I wondered, ‘Over the past 8 months since Greg has been helping  us get opened up and set up each Sunday morning, have I ever personally invited him to sit in on one of our worship experiences?’ I mean, he was there on campus each Sunday to let us in, and yet I couldn’t remember actually ever asking him to come!

So I asked him… ‘Hey man, I don’t know if I’ve ever personally invited you to stay on Sunday mornings for a service, but you know you are welcome any time, right? I hope you’ll stay and join us one of these mornings.’ He said, ‘No, I don’t think you have invited me, but Matt has…(Matt’s our family pastor… way to go, man!)

And with that Greg kind of changed the subject… but I couldn’t shake the fact that here I was, the pastor of a church plant committed to reach out to the people in our community, and yet I hadn’t invited a man who I saw every single Sunday, someone who was right in front of me all the time. And so it made me think, ‘Does this kind of thing happen a lot? I wonder how often when we pray for the chance to reach out to someone with the love of Christ, we fail to see the people right in front of us? A neighbor, a co-worker, a family member, a friend… who are the people we might be missing… that we might be overlooking?’

Lord, in the days ahead, please open up my eyes to see more people who need you and that might be actually right there in front of me…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3

  1. CJ Fischer says:

    Greg is so great. It’s a pleasure working with him every week.

Leave a Reply

